Professional Designations

Certified Investment Management Analyst (CIMA®)

The CIMA® credential is awarded by the Investment Management Consultants Association (IMCA) to professionals who complete a demanding graduate-level program of study at the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania or the Haas School of Business at the University of California, Berkley, pass a pre-qualifying and certifying exam, and have at least three years of broad experience in field of investment management consulting, and fulfill continuing education requirements of at least 40 hours every two years. Most CIMA® holders are highly regarded investment consultants and interact extensively with their clients.

Chartered Alternative Investment Analyst (CAIA®)

The CAIA® designation is the industry's first and only specialized educational standard, developed by Alternative Investment Management Association (AIMA) and the Center for International Securities and Derivatives Markets (CISDM) - two organizations providing global leadership for alternative investment professionals by setting the highest standards in alternative investment education, professional conduct, and advocacy programs. It is the mission of the CAIA® Association to:

  • Provide members with a comprehensive knowledge of alternative investments
  • Advocate high standards of professional conduct
  • Establish the Chartered Alternative Investment Analyst designation as the educational standard
  • for the alternative investment industry
  • Promote professional development through ongoing education
  • Facilitate communication among industry professionals

Accredited Asset Management Specialist (AAMS®)

This designation is awarded by the College for Financial Planning, and is earned by those able to demonstrate the ability to make comprehensive recommendations regarding a client's total financial picture, including investment management, insurance, tax, retirement, and estate planning.
The College for Financial Planning awards the AAMS® designation to students who complete the program, pass the final examination, and sign a code of ethics commitment and declaration form.